TCR Grand Parade Marshall for 2023

Texas Tech President named 2023 TCR Parade Marshall.

Since Dr. Lawrence Schovanec was named president in 2016, Texas Tech University has achieved records in enrollment, retention, graduation, research expenditures, and fundraising. 

Schovanec, who received his doctorate in mathematics from Indiana University, has prioritized student success and scholarship support throughout his tenure. Since being appointed president, Texas Tech has significantly increased annual awards for merit- and need-based scholarships which has contributed to record first-year classes and numbers of National Merit Finalists, Presidential Scholars, and first-generation students.

To support Texas Tech’s commitment to its educational and research missions, Schovanec has established 50 Presidential Teaching and Research Excellence Professorships.

Texas Tech is one of 21 institutions in the nation that is designated a Carnegie Very High Research Activity and a Hispanic Serving Institution. Texas Tech has also established the Texas Tech University School of Veterinary Medicine in Amarillo and Texas Tech University at Costa Rica under Schovanec’s leadership.

Texas Tech has continued to increase and improve its infrastructure during Schovanec’s tenure. Since his appointment, Texas Tech has dedicated or started the construction of new facilities that represent an investment of more than $900 million. This includes a new Honors Residence Hall, Academic Sciences Building, Experimental Sciences Building, and significant renovation of the university theatre.

President Schovanec serves as Chair of the Big 12 Board of Directors, Chair of the Board of Directors of the Texas International Educational Consortium, Chair of the Texas Council of Public University Presidents and Chancellors, and is a member of the NAFSA Board of Directors.